American Image Awards pays tribute to Gabriela Hearst, Black in Fashion Council – Footwear News

Innovators from across the fashion industry were honored today at the 2021 American Image Awards.

Hosted by TV personality Segun Oduolowu, the American Apparel & Footwear Association’s virtual awards show recognized several individuals and companies who have made an impact on the fashion industry over the past year.

Black in Fashion Council received the Fashion Maverick Award and co-founders Sandrine Charles and Lindsay Peoples Wagner accepted.

“We really wanted to work hard and make sure there was measurable and lasting change in the industry and we’ve come a long way towards that, but we’re super grateful and super honored,” said Peoples Wagner.

Peoples Wagner partnered with Charles to create The Black in Fashion Council in 2020. The group strives to represent and secure the advancement of black people in the fashion and beauty industry.

Elle Editor-in-Chief and Project Runway Judge Nina Garcia introduced Designer of the Year recipient Gabriela Hearst.

“I am grateful to AAFA for this honor for me and my teams because… it gives us fuel to continue our mission, which is now more focused than ever on the subject of sustainability,” said Hearst.

Hearst founded her eponymous brand in the fall of 15 and opened the company’s flagship store in Manhattan in 2018. She was named Chloe’s Creative Director in December 2020.

Other winners included HanesBrands, Walmart, Sustainable Apparel Coalition and ShopShops.

Brandon Maxwell and model Lindsey Coffey have also made appearances on the series.

Virtual Gala Benefits Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Foundation, raise funds for charitable and industrial activities through innovative partnerships with CFDA brands, retailers and designers.

Source link

Previous Lifestyle Program for Obesity, Best Pediatric Heart Center in USA
Next Government urged to restore royalty distribution formula for Karak - Journal

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *